2021-22 WP Fives

Welcome to the Mowbray Bowling and Social Club.

2021-22 WP Fives

The draw for the Western Province Fives opening rounds was released on Friday.

The pool section matches – Rounds 1-3 – take place on Saturday 6 November with the the knockout rounds following on Sunday for those who progress.

Mowbray is strongly represented with 9 teams entered and they are nicely spread out across the Cape.

The first team out of the draw is Gary Lyttle, Peter Todt, Trevor Kidd (trips) and Richard Todt and Craig Fisher (Pairs) in Section 3. They were fortunate to land a plumb home draw at Mowbray. Dual member Jene McCourt is also in that section with her Helderberg team as well as Plumstead and SA Police.

Willie Lategan, Carlo Prins and Princess Schroeder (Trips) plus Craig Beckwith and Mark Vadas (Pairs) are off to “the other MBC” out at Milnerton to contest Section 8.

Section 9 sees Jenny Wade, Jules Horak and Tangle Rippon (Trips) plus Mike and Annie Blacker (pairs) heading out to Somerset West. Not the only Mowbray side that’s going to be clocking a few miles that weekend as you’ll see later on.

Section 10 a very kind draw for ‘Biskit and Friends’ who are drawn at Plumstead. That team is Errol Manuel, Karl Weber, Paul Shames (Trips) and Dave van der Walt and Warren Povey (Pairs). It’s no secret how good the greens are at Plumstead and there’s sure to be a ding dong battle with a WPCC team that includes good friends of the Bray in Kevin Nash and Peter Bryant. Watch this space!

Then the big one! Even though the Fives is being played open gender for the first time, we won’t forget that our Ladies team won the competition last year. Three of that winning team are back in an all-ladies team with Taz Bright, Wendy Adams and Sylvia Burns (Trips) plus Mo Louw and Susan Weber (Pairs) being drawn in Section 11 out at Bellville.

Gareth Rosslee, Warren Hewitt, Michael Zartz (Trips) and Tony van der Poel and Ian Hampshire (Pairs) are drawn in Section 16 out at Helderberg. Somerset West will clearly be a MBC hotspot on Saturday! Make sure your passports are up to date.

Section 19 at Constantia has Simon van Vlaanderen, Shirie Rebelo, Chiniqwa Pretorius (Trips) along with Tommy Ferreira and Lorraine Pretorius (Pairs). They will lock horns with our good friends Geoff Chiat and Solly Abrahams from the Glen.

Also at Constantia in Section 20 are Graham Bradshaw, Penny van Zyl, Rick Bing (Trips) and another husband and wife pairs combo in John and Trish Leggat.

And finally going deep into the basin, but not as deep as some are Section 27 at Strand with Mark Douglas, Candice Goncalves, Candice Hampshire (Trips) and Olivia Carulei and Karen Wilson (Pairs).

There are 28 Sections in all with 111 teams taking part. You can see the documents on the WP website!

Enjoy your bowling and let’s get as many teams into the playoffs as possible.

Gareth Rosslee

%d bloggers like this: